Softball team opens 2020 season in Nevada

Softball team opens 2020 season in Nevada

Photo – Back row – L-R – Camryn Mileta, Megan Reidhead, Sydney Stewart, Aspen Dufour, Morgan Pantaleo, Emilee Younger – Middle Row – L-R – Rachel McKinley, Marley Moralez, Jessica Arellano, Melanie Lopez, Karina Nomi, Anna Palomar – Front row L-R - Paola Holguin, Isabella Costales, Haley Valdez, Marissa Reyes, Gianna Paape, Bailey Griego

TRINIDAD, Colo. – The Lady Trojans Softball team, led by head coach Steve Swazo who is entering his 14th year at the helm, begin their 2020 season this weekend on the road in Henderson, Nevada.

This year's team consists of 18 players with six sophomores and 12 freshmen. Sophomores include Rachel McKinley and Camryn Mileta from New Mexico, Megan Reidhead from Arizona, and Aspen Dufour, Melanie Lopez, and Jessica Arellano from Colorado. Freshmen players are Paola Holguin and Marley Moralez from Texas, Haley Valdez, Isabella Costales and Marissa Reyes from New Mexico, Bailey Griego and Gianna Paape from California, Morgan Pantaleo, Anna Palomar, Emilee Younger and Sydney Stewart from Colorado and Karina Nomi from Brazil.

The first four games of the season will be played at the CSN Invitational tournament in Henderson, Nevada where the Trojans will play four nationally ranked teams. On January 31, the Trojans open up against #16 ranked Yavapai College out of Arizona. Then next they face #5 ranked Salt Lake City before ending the day against #9 ranked Arizona Western. On Saturday February 1 the Lady Trojans will face #3 ranked Phoenix College for a single game prior to heading back home.

Trinidad State will play a 60-game schedule this spring with their first home games scheduled for February 22 against Luna Community College at the newly renovated Southside Park. The doubleheader is set to begin at noon.

The Trojans are hoping to replicate the success of the 2017 and 2018 teams and bring home a Region IX Championship during the 2020 campaign.

Coach Swazo's assistant coaches are Analece Apodaca, Courtney Vigil and Vikki Gonzales.